image

 

I’ve been making this soup for years now. It’s my favorite spring/summer rainy day soup. But it works well in warmer days too. I found the recipe in a Wallpaper magazine. Must have been at the end of the 90’s. Do you remember Wallpaper? That thick magazine that had sleek fashion images and architecture photographs, all the design awards, and nobody could ever finish reading as it was so long. I think it’s still being published. I don’t know, somewhere along the years I lost track of it. But I associate it with the late 90’s. Well, this soup is the best thing Wallpaper gave me, besides being the most long-lasting.

It is super easy to make, even on your busiest day. So no excuse for not cooking. “I’m way too busy” won’t do. Go ahead and try it. It’s delicious, fresh, minty-sweet, and has the loveliest green color. The only change I’ve made to the original recipe is that now I use coconut oil instead of olive oil. I never heat extra virgin olive oil anymore. Coconut oil can be heated and it goes perfect with the soup’s simple flavour layers.

Sweet Green Pea Soup

serves 4

2 tbsp coconut oil

3 cloves of garlic, chopped

1 medium onion, chopped

500 g bag frozen sweet green peas

500 ml chicken or vegetable stock

1 bunch fresh mint, roughly chopped

Heat the coconut oil in a pot over a medium heat, add the onion and garlic and soften, but do not brown, for 3-5 minutes. Add the peas straight from the freezer with the stock. Bring to a boil and then turn down the heat and simmer for about 5 minutes of until the peas are tender. Add the chopped mint and immediately blend until smooth.

 

